Cable & Wake


Kitesurf competitions

kitesurf & snowkite comps

Kitesurf gear


Kitesurfing videos

Hunstanton Freestyle 2010 BKSA, King of the Air

27 July 2010 | 8:15 am

Five times world kitesurfing champion Aaron Hadlow was a welcome guest at the BKSA Hunstanton National Freestyle event, which took place at the weekend.

Even Hadlow could not influence Friday’s weather on the north coast of Norfolk though, as the strong sunshine and oli sweeneystill conditions meant no wind, but the day wasn’t a total write-off, as the competitors watched the BMX and skateboarders going off

Hunstanton Freestyle 2010 BKSA, King of the AirMany of the athletes have a skateboarding or BMX background, so an enjoyable day was had by all, despite the unsuitable climatic conditions.

Sunday began very windy much to everyone’s surprise and it was a 9.30 start for the Pro Men’s which was fierce – early standouts were Luke Whiteside and Ned Taylor – however it was a consistent Lewis Wilby who made it into the final with Ned and Oli Sweeney . The conditions were choppy and Oli stomped home most of his tricks to take the lead over the other two in the final to take the win… he’s back on it boys and girls!

Next up were the ladies- British #1 Hannah Whiteley showed her dominance of the field again taking the win ahead of the much improved Nicky Rudd and Holly Kennedy – think it will be a close season this year.

The Amateur men were next up with a mixture of ages from 20 – 35. and local riders Simon Light and Jordan Smith were showing good form on their local patch however it was new boy Xan Woods who took the win.

Last up was a mixture of heats in the Seniors and Youths however the wind was starting to die off as it switched to the West and kept coming and going – this left the final results in both fleets as 1st equals for the top 4 riders.

Hunstanton Freestyle 2010 BKSA, King of the AirPrize giving was held at 6pm and then everyone said there goodbyes and headed home except for a few who stayed to watch the World Cup Finals!


Pro Men
1- Oli Sweeney
2- Ned Taylor
3- Lewis Wilby

Pro Ladies
1- Hannah Whiteley
2- Nicky Rudd
3- Holly Kennedy

Am Men
1- Xan Woods
2- Jordan Smith
3- Simon Light

Am Ladies
1- Chloe Durrant
2- Polly Crathorn
3- Danielle Durrant


1= Richard Jones, Daniel Vaughn, Peter Whiteley, Joe Hockley


1= Sam Bull, Will Makinson, Jack Daykin, Ollie Bridge


1-Tom Bridge
2- Guy Bridge
3- Callum Asquith

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar blog.