Cable & Wake


Kitesurf competitions

kitesurf & snowkite comps

Kitesurf gear


Kitesurfing videos

Guilly Brandao win the 2010 Brazilian Kitesurfing Wave Title

22 September 2010 | 3:58 pm

Ibiraquera Beach offered perfect two meter waves and strong East and NorthEast winds.

In the first heat of the semifinal, Roberto Vieira, from Bahia, was better and beated Alexandre “Magrinho” Takeo, from Sao Paulo.

After a brief interval, Magrinho returned to the water for the third place match against the young Felipe “Frajolinha” Ferreira.

The kitesurfer from Rio de Janeiro clinched 3rd place and Magrinho placed 4th.

The “grand finale” began with Guilly Brandão and Robby Vieira, from Bahia. The waves were still big and breaking well on the outside and the competitors’ friends were at the water’s edge helping with equipment.

Guilly, winner of the Mormaii IWC in 2008, began printing a strong pace battery, with a 6.5 points score. Robby replied with an intermediate wave: 4.83 points. But soon, Guilly answered with a 6.1 point wave.

Robby had time to drop the best wave of the contest – seven points.

But Guilly had a better sum and he was crowned one more time the Brazilian Wave Kitesurfing champion.

Next year, the 18th edition of the Mormaii Ibiraquera Wave Contest has already confirmed three contests: Windsurf, Kitesurf and SUP.

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar blog.