Cable & Wake


Kitesurf competitions

kitesurf & snowkite comps

Kitesurf gear


Kitesurfing videos

KPWT Tarifa 2009 – Day 2

3 July 2009 | 12:04 pm

Welcome to day two on the KPWT Movistar Kite Pro Tarifa 2009. After a chilled party and dinner held at Pacha Mama last night all riders appreciated the 10h30 skippers meeting this morning.

The wind was not at competition requirements this morning so the next skippers meeting was held after lunch at 13h30. Yesterday saw four exciting course races and results for the day are posted below.

The first rounds of the men’s single elimination started off competition day 2. The heats began at 14h15 and continued up until 16h00 with the first round for men completed.

At 16h30 the HAVAIANAS board off competition was held! The huge flip-flops/ boards were dragged into the water and attempts were made to pull off the best maneuver possible.
Abel Lago (SPA RRD), Jose Luengo (SPA, LIQUID FORCE), Alvaro Onieva (SPA, BEST) and Antoine Auriol (FRA, KITELOOSE) participated in the men’s competition. With the final between the two Spanish riders, Alvaro and Abel doing their absolute best with the heavy boards in front of an excitable crowd!

It was quite the spectacle and brought thousands down to the beach.
Alvaro managed to do just enough to win the final heat against Abel and the 900euro prize money on offer!

For the women, Kari Schibevaag (NOR, OZONE), Gisela Pulido (SPA, MOVISTAR), Fabienne D’Ortoli(FRA, NAISH) and Ania Grezlinska (POL, NORTH) took part in this unique event. Gisela handled the heavy board as best she could and managed to take the final heat and the 600euro prize money on offer!
Thank you to HAVAIANAS for their support and this “BOARD OFF” competition.

The wind had dropped off by 18h00 and an attempt was made to run the women’s first elimination rounds. Unfortunately there was not enough wind and after heat one the day was called off. What a fun and unique day on the KPWT Movistar Kite Pro Tarifa 2009!

Course Racing 1st July Results

Race One Men:
1. Bruno Sroka (FRA, CABRINHA)
2. Abel Lago (SPA, RRD)
3. Sean Farley (MEX, NORTH)

Race One Women:
1. Fabienne D’Ortoli (FRA, NAISH)
2. Licariao Aguiar (BRA, TRUZZ)
3. Ainhoa Garcia (SPA, AIRUSH)

Race Two Men:
1. Bruno Sroka (FRA, CABRINHA)
2. Sean Farley (MEX, NORTH)
3. Abel Lago (SPA, RRD)

Race Two Women:
1. Fabienne D’Ortoli (FRA, NAISH)
2. Licariao Aguiar (BRA, TRUZZ)
3. Kari Schibevaag (NOR, OZONE)

Race Three Men:
1. Abel Lago (SPA, RRD)
2. Sean Farley (MEX, NORTH)
3. Bruno Sroka (FRA, CABRINHA)

Race Three Women:
1. Licariao Aguiar (BRA, TRUZZ)
2. Kari Schibevaag (NOR, OZONE)
3. Fabienne D’Ortoli (FRA, NAISH)

Race Four Men:
1. Bruno Sroka (FRA, CABRINHA)
2. Sean Farley (MEX, NORTH)
3. Jesse Richman (USA, CABRINHA)

Race Four Women:
1. Licariao Aguiar (BRA, TRUZZ)
2. Fabienne D’Ortoli (FRA, NAISH)
3. Ainhoa Garcia (SPA, AIRUSH)

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar blog.