Cable & Wake


Kitesurf competitions

kitesurf & snowkite comps

Kitesurf gear


Kitesurfing videos

De Aboitiz and Schibevaag take wave single elimination titles

10 April 2011 | 10:15 am

De Aboitiz and Schibevaag take wave single elimination titles at the Lanzarote Santakitepro 2011

The wind and wave conditions were great today for the kick-off of the Lanzarote Santakitepro 2011 in Lanzarote. An increasing swell built throughout the day from 2 to about 3 metres with side shore to on shore wind averaging 18-25 knots. The conditions were slightly tricky at times, however the riders ripped through the waves stylishly with 9m kites then switching to 6m throughout the afternoon. A total of five discerning judges scored the competition today.

The scores were calculated by totaling the average of three scored waves while the highest as well as the lowest scored waves were discarded. Competitors whom execute the most radical maneuvers with control and stability scored the highest points. Wave selection was also a key factor in scoring due to the waves that closed out making it important to take advantage of the white water.

In the men’s wave division, Australian rider Keahi De Aboitiz (Cabrinha, AUS) was a show stealer executing strapless maneuvers such as aerials, 360-degree rotations as well as impressive cutbacks on the edge of the critical section of nearly every wave earning him the PKRA Lanzarote wave single elimination title by defeating Fabio Nunes (Gastra, BRA) in an extremely close men’s final. Both riders were on top of their game hitting the lip vertically and re-reentering waves in quick succession while maintaining control and stability. Nunes takes second place with his strong powerful cutbacks and swift bottom turns while Filippe Ferreira (Wainman, BRA) follows in third place with his precise timing and hard rails.

In the women’s wave division, Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR) proved once again that she’s an all around outstanding wave competitor. Schibevaag hit the lip hard, throwing an enormous spray prior to her expeditious drop to the bottom while turning sharply for a fast vertical rise back to the top. Schibevaag defeated Spanish rider Angela Peral (North, ESP) in the women’s final who charged her way to the top of the critical section sliding her way to the bottom with a smooth continuous flow. Ines Correia (RRD, POR) from Portugal takes third place with her impressive maneuvers and fluent speed.

The 2010 PKRA Wave World Champion Guilly Brandao was seen this afternoon in Lanzarote checking out the fun and excitement. The wave double elimination will resume tomorrow with a skipper’s meeting set for 9:00am with a 9:30am first possible start.

The Lanzarote Santakitepro 2010 organized by La Santa Surf and sponsored in part by: Cabildo de Lanzarote, Ayuntamiento de Teguise, Lanzarote Reserva de Biosfera, Costa Teguise, Santa Surf, Servicio Insular de Deportes, Sand Beach Active, Club de Kite y Surf, Logistics World Events, Costa Noroeste, and Alayon.


1. Keahi De Aboitiz (Cabrinha, AUS)
2. Fabio Nunes (Gastra, BRA)
3. Filippe Ferreira (Wainman, BRA)
4. Paulino Pereira (POR)


1. Kari Schibevaag (Ozone, NOR)
2. Angela Peral (North, ESP)
3. Ines Correia (RRD, POR)
4. Marie Gautron (Takoon, FRA)

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar blog.